30 May, 2023

Regional Centre


The Regional Centre at Hyderabad was established in January1987. This Regional Centre covers all the Ten (10) Districts of Telangana State. This Regional Centre was formally inaugurated on 2nd February 1987 by Late Professor G Ram Reddy, founder Vice-Chancellor, IGNOU. The Regional Centre had 5 Study Centres in 1987 and admitted 546 students into two programmes viz., Diploma in Distance Education and Diploma in Management Programmes. Over the years it has established 26 Study Centres / Programme Study Centres offering about 250 programmes launched by the University. Out of 26 Study Centres established in the State, 6 are regular Study Centres and 20 are Programme Study Centres.


IGNOU Regional Centre, Hyderabad has emerged as one of the largest IGNOU Regional Centres with cumulative enrolment crossing 2.5 lakh figure. At the time of its inception in the year 1987 IGNOU Regional Centre Hyderabad catered to educational needs of the entire state of Andhra Pradesh. As the enrolment for various programmes increased the Jurisdiction of the Regional Centre has been divided into two Regions in the state of Andhra Pradesh from July 2008.  Presently the jurisdiction of RC-Hyderabad consists of : Hyderabad, Ranga Reddy, Medak, Nalgonda, Warangal, Karimnagar, Nizamabad, Adilabad, Mahaboob Nagar and Khammam, thus catering to all the ten districts of newly formed Telangana State.



The Regional Centre is headed by the Regional Director who is supported by a team of Academic, Administrative and supporting staff.


It coordinates various learner support activities by providing academic and administrative link between the learners, the study centres and the University Headquarters.


SNo Name of the Regional Director From To
1 Dr.P.Satyanarayana 02-02-1987 31.07.2000
2 Dr.S.Raja Rao (I/c) 01-08-2000 09.10.2000
3 Dr.P.Ashok Kumar 10-10-2000 14.04.2002
4 Dr.V.Vasudevan 14.04.2002 14.08.2004
5 Dr.S.Raja Rao (I/c) 14.08.2004 19.08.2004
6 Dr.T.R.Srinivasan 20.08.2004 16.07.2007
7 Dr.P.Ashok Kumar 16.07.2007 07.07.2010
8 Dr.B.Rajagopal 07.07.2010 30.09.2012
9 Dr.D.R.Sharma(I/c) 01.10.2012 28.11.2012
10 Dr.M.Krishaniah(I/c) 29.11.2012 15.01.2013
11 Dr.Kameshwari Moorty 16.01.2013 04.07.2014
12 Dr.M.Krishnaiah(I/c) 05.07.2014 09.07.2014
13 Dr.P.Ashok Kumar 10.07.2014 31.12.2016
14 Dr.S.Fiayaz Ahmed 01.01.2017 30.04.2022
15 Dr.K.Ramesh 01.05.2022 Continuing